Posted by: Ian Ross | January 5, 2008

Going from voyeur to voyageur in PR social media

No matter how many books you read or people you watch, you can never understand canoeing until you’ve spend hours paddling through Canada’s hinterlands.

The same can be said for social media. Over the past year, I’ve peeked into dozens of PR blogs, flirted with Facebook and read about the coming communication revolution. But I’ve hesitated to put the paddle in the water and fully experience and understand the phenomenon.

I was being a voyeur not a voyageur in social media.

Well, today things change and I’m finally launching my PR Voyaguer blog. My goals are simple.

  1. To contribute to the ongoing discussions about public relations, social media and news media.
  2. To better understand the possibilities that social media brings to the public relations industry. This will certainly be a valuable new skills that I can bring to my employer and volunteer work.
  3. To build a set of case studies and commentaries that could be used for something bigger. Perhaps a magazine article or college course down the road.
  4. To avoid being five years behind the social media curve.

My commitments to myself and the PR social media community will start simple. Three posts on my blog and three comments on other blogs every week. All of my posts won’t be strictly about social media. Some will be observations on news media behaviour or public relations campaigns. And other will talk about how social media intersects with them.

For me, the timing is right. 2008 appears full of fodder – the American election, a likely Canadian election, the Beijing Olympics, baseball’s steriod scandal aftermath and more climate change debates.

Recently, I achieved my accreditation in public relations (APR), so I’ve also got a head full of thoughts and ideas that need to get out. Also under my belt is a term as president of the Canadian Public Relations Society (Toronto), six years experience in public relations and a masters degree in communication. For more info see my bio.

I think that cover the basics in my first post. And so it begins

Responses

  1. Hi Ian,
    Welcome to the blogosphere! I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts and observations.

    Thanks also for the comment on my APR post.

    BTW, I especially like your blog’s name and its link to exploring (which is a lot of what social media seems to be about). Enjoy the ride, and happy paddling when you hit that inevitable white water.


Leave a Reply

Categories

